People

Mikael Wood

Associate | Helsinki

Mikael Wood advises clients in the fields of real estate transactions and development projects. In addition, Mikael provides advice on general commercial, corporate, and contract law.

Prior to joining Hannes Snellman, Mikael gained international experience studying abroad and working for Philips and the European Union as a legal trainee.


References

Acted as counsel to the sellers in the sale of a logistics portfolio consisting of assets in Finland spanning 134,000 square metres of leased space. The portfolio is wholly let to Posti Group, the main Finnish postal service and a third-party logistics services provider. The transaction has been cited as the largest real estate transaction executed in Finland in the year 2023.

Matti Lajunen

Matti Lajunen

Partner | Helsinki
matti.lajunen@hannessnellman.com
Paavo Romakkaniemi

Paavo Romakkaniemi

Associate | Helsinki
paavo.romakkaniemi@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Wood

Mikael Wood

Associate | Helsinki
mikael.wood@hannessnellman.com
Ville Säteri

Ville Säteri

Associate | Helsinki
ville.sateri@hannessnellman.com
Nora Mansikka

Nora Mansikka

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
nora.mansikka@hannessnellman.com

Parties

CapMan Social Real Estate Fund (Buyer)

Transaction

CapMan Social Real Estate Fund's acquisition of a portfolio of three assets in the centrally located Helsinki Hietalahti area. Two of the buildings house the French Jules Verne  kindergarten and school and one, once refurbished, will house daycare facilities operated by the City of Helsinki. 

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to CapMan Social Real Estate Fund

 

Matti Lajunen

Matti Lajunen

Partner | Helsinki
matti.lajunen@hannessnellman.com
Panu Vikberg

Panu Vikberg

Senior Associate | Helsinki
panu.vikberg@hannessnellman.com
Rauli Elenius

Rauli Elenius

Associate | Helsinki
rauli.elenius@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Wood

Mikael Wood

Associate | Helsinki
mikael.wood@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Masco Corporation (Buyer), Nordic Mezzanine and other Sauna360 Group Oy’s shareholders (Sellers), Sauna360 Group Oy (Target)

Transaction:

Acquisition of Sauna360 Group Oy

Deal value:

Value not public

Role:

Finnish and Swedish Counsel to Masco Corporation

Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner | Helsinki
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Senior Associate | Helsinki
agda.vaha-piikkio@hannessnellman.com
Joonas Vartia

Joonas Vartia

Associate | Helsinki
joonas.vartia@hannessnellman.com
Wilma Montonen

Wilma Montonen

Associate | Helsinki
wilma.montonen@hannessnellman.com
Astrid Trolle Adams

Astrid Trolle Adams

Counsel | Stockholm
astrid.trolle.adams@hannessnellman.com
Ulrika Wigart

Ulrika Wigart

Associate | Stockholm
ulrika.wigart@hannessnellman.com
Simon Mittler

Simon Mittler

Associate | Helsinki
simon.mittler@hannessnellman.com
Louise Nordback

Louise Nordback

Associate | Stockholm
louise.nordback@hannessnellman.com
Ingrid Remmelgas

Ingrid Remmelgas

Counsel | Helsinki
ingrid.remmelgas@hannessnellman.com
Anna Nyberg

Anna Nyberg

Senior Associate | Helsinki
anna.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Lisa Pålsson

Lisa Pålsson

Associate | Stockholm
lisa.palsson@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Wood

Mikael Wood

Associate | Helsinki
mikael.wood@hannessnellman.com
Andreas Wingren

Andreas Wingren

Associate | Stockholm
andreas.wingren@hannessnellman.com
Peter Forsberg

Peter Forsberg

Partner | Stockholm
peter.forsberg@hannessnellman.com
Lars Lundgren

Lars Lundgren

Associate | Stockholm
lars.lundgren@hannessnellman.com
Sofia Saarelainen

Sofia Saarelainen

Associate | Helsinki
sofia.saarelainen@hannessnellman.com
Ville Säteri

Ville Säteri

Associate | Helsinki
ville.sateri@hannessnellman.com
Sofia Granberg

Sofia Granberg

Associate | Stockholm
sofia.granberg@hannessnellman.com
Emilia Reis

Emilia Reis

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
emilia.reis@hannessnellman.com
Rebecca Osola

Rebecca Osola

Senior Legal Assistant | Helsinki
rebecca.osola@hannessnellman.com

Parties 

LähiTapiola Yhteiskuntakiinteistöt Suomi Ky (buyer), the Kirkkonummi Health and Social Services Centre (target), the Municipality of Kirkkonummi (seller)

Transaction 

Counsel to LähiTapiola Yhteiskuntakiinteistöt Suomi Ky in the acquisition and financing of the Kirkkonummi Health and Social Services Centre from the Municipality of Kirkkonummi.

Deal value 

EUR 63.5 million

Role 

Counsel to LähiTapiola Yhteiskuntakiinteistöt Suomi Ky

Matti Lajunen

Matti Lajunen

Partner | Helsinki
matti.lajunen@hannessnellman.com
Tuomas Koivuniemi

Tuomas Koivuniemi

Counsel | Helsinki
tuomas.koivuniemi@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Wood

Mikael Wood

Associate | Helsinki
mikael.wood@hannessnellman.com
Rauli Elenius

Rauli Elenius

Associate | Helsinki
rauli.elenius@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Tiia Mäki

Tiia Mäki

Associate | Helsinki
tiia.maki@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Orange Capital Partners (Buyer), Starwood Capital Group and Avara Oy (Sellers)

Transaction

Hannes Snellman acted as counsel to Orange Capital Partners in the acquisition of a residential portfolio of 2,200 apartments located across 16 cities from Starwood Capital Group and Avara Oy

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Orange Capital Partners

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Antti Nyberg (Alanko)

Antti Nyberg (Alanko)

Partner | Helsinki
antti.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Tuomas Koivuniemi

Tuomas Koivuniemi

Counsel | Helsinki
tuomas.koivuniemi@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Parviainen

Jenni Parviainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jenni.parviainen@hannessnellman.com
Janne Veneranta

Janne Veneranta

Managing Associate | Helsinki
janne.veneranta@hannessnellman.com
Valerie Wårvik

Valerie Wårvik

Senior Associate | Helsinki
valerie.warvik@hannessnellman.com
Isabella Kartila

Isabella Kartila

Senior Associate | Helsinki
isabella.kartila@hannessnellman.com
Noora Christiansen

Noora Christiansen

Associate | Helsinki
noora.christiansen@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Wood

Mikael Wood

Associate | Helsinki
mikael.wood@hannessnellman.com
Sofia Ampuja

Sofia Ampuja

Senior Associate | Helsinki
sofia.ampuja@hannessnellman.com
Rauli Elenius

Rauli Elenius

Associate | Helsinki
rauli.elenius@hannessnellman.com
Alisa Ainonen

Alisa Ainonen

Associate | Helsinki
alisa.ainonen@hannessnellman.com
Paavo Romakkaniemi

Paavo Romakkaniemi

Associate | Helsinki
paavo.romakkaniemi@hannessnellman.com
Essi Peltoniemi

Essi Peltoniemi

Associate | Helsinki
essi.peltoniemi@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Somppi

Anniina Somppi

Associate | Helsinki
anniina.somppi@hannessnellman.com
Axel Hård af Segerstad

Axel Hård af Segerstad

Associate | Helsinki
axel.hard@hannessnellman.com
Veera Heiskanen

Veera Heiskanen

Associate | Helsinki
veera.heiskanen@hannessnellman.com
Viivi Vikberg

Viivi Vikberg

Associate | Helsinki
viivi.vikberg@hannessnellman.com
Salla Mäki

Salla Mäki

Senior Legal Assistant | Helsinki
salla.maki@hannessnellman.com
Tiia Mäki

Tiia Mäki

Associate | Helsinki
tiia.maki@hannessnellman.com
Victoria Reiter

Victoria Reiter

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
victoria.reiter@hannessnellman.com
Liisa Veckman

Liisa Veckman

Senior Legal Assistant | Helsinki
liisa.veckman@hannessnellman.com
Vivi Jaatinen

Vivi Jaatinen

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
vivi.jaatinen@hannessnellman.com
Janita Stenroos

Janita Stenroos

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
janita.stenroos@hannessnellman.com

Parties

LähiTapiola Yhteiskuntakiinteistöt (Buyer), Lahti Health and Social Services Centre (Target)

Transaction

LähiTapiola Yhteiskuntakiinteistöt acquired the Lahti Health and Social Services Centre

Deal Value

Approx. EUR 100 million

Role

Counsel to LähiTapiola Yhteiskuntakiinteistöt

Matti Lajunen

Matti Lajunen

Partner | Helsinki
matti.lajunen@hannessnellman.com
Tuomas Koivuniemi

Tuomas Koivuniemi

Counsel | Helsinki
tuomas.koivuniemi@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Wood

Mikael Wood

Associate | Helsinki
mikael.wood@hannessnellman.com

Parties 

NREP (Buyer), a fund managed by Genesta (Seller)

Transaction 

Hannes Snellman acted as counsel to NREP in the acquisition of the historic office property Bulevardi 21, located in Central Helsinki, from a fund managed by Genesta.

Deal Value 

Value not public

Role

Counsel to NREP

Matti Lajunen

Matti Lajunen

Partner | Helsinki
matti.lajunen@hannessnellman.com
Paavo Romakkaniemi

Paavo Romakkaniemi

Associate | Helsinki
paavo.romakkaniemi@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Wood

Mikael Wood

Associate | Helsinki
mikael.wood@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Nyfosa Finland AB

Transaction:

A transaction where Nyfosa acquired a modern office property of approximately 13,000 square meters in central Tampere.

Deal Value:

Value not public

Role:

Counsel to Nyfosa Finland AB

Matti Lajunen

Matti Lajunen

Partner | Helsinki
matti.lajunen@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Wood

Mikael Wood

Associate | Helsinki
mikael.wood@hannessnellman.com
Paavo Romakkaniemi

Paavo Romakkaniemi

Associate | Helsinki
paavo.romakkaniemi@hannessnellman.com

Parties 

KanAm Grund Kapitalverwaltungsgesellschaft mbH, LEADING CITIES INVEST, Genesta

Transaction 

KanAm Grund Kapitalverwaltungsgesellschaft mbH acting on behalf and on the account of the LEADING CITIES INVEST in the acquisition of an office property located centrally in Helsinki at Fabianinkatu 9.

Deal Value 

Value not public

Role

Counsel to KanAm Grund Kapitalverwaltungsgesellschaft mbH

Matti Lajunen

Matti Lajunen

Partner | Helsinki
matti.lajunen@hannessnellman.com
Tuuli Pikkarainen

Tuuli Pikkarainen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
tuuli.pikkarainen@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Wood

Mikael Wood

Associate | Helsinki
mikael.wood@hannessnellman.com
Nora Mansikka

Nora Mansikka

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
nora.mansikka@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Orange Capital Partners and another global investor (Buyers), Morgan Stanley (Seller)

Transaction

Orange Capital Partners' and another global investor's acquisition of a residential portfolio with 37 assets and 1,900 apartments from Morgan Stanley

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Orange Capital Partners and another global investor

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Marjaana Martikainen

Marjaana Martikainen

Counsel | Helsinki
marjaana.martikainen@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Parviainen

Jenni Parviainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jenni.parviainen@hannessnellman.com
Janne Veneranta

Janne Veneranta

Managing Associate | Helsinki
janne.veneranta@hannessnellman.com
Valerie Wårvik

Valerie Wårvik

Senior Associate | Helsinki
valerie.warvik@hannessnellman.com
Isabella Kartila

Isabella Kartila

Senior Associate | Helsinki
isabella.kartila@hannessnellman.com
Noora Christiansen

Noora Christiansen

Associate | Helsinki
noora.christiansen@hannessnellman.com
Marika Sorsa

Marika Sorsa

Counsel | Helsinki
marika.sorsa@hannessnellman.com
Minna Juhola

Minna Juhola

Counsel | Helsinki
minna.juhola@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Wood

Mikael Wood

Associate | Helsinki
mikael.wood@hannessnellman.com
Sofia Ampuja

Sofia Ampuja

Senior Associate | Helsinki
sofia.ampuja@hannessnellman.com
Julia Ranta

Julia Ranta

Associate | Helsinki
julia.ranta@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Somppi

Anniina Somppi

Associate | Helsinki
anniina.somppi@hannessnellman.com
Tiia Mäki

Tiia Mäki

Associate | Helsinki
tiia.maki@hannessnellman.com
Salla Mäki

Salla Mäki

Senior Legal Assistant | Helsinki
salla.maki@hannessnellman.com
Janita Stenroos

Janita Stenroos

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
janita.stenroos@hannessnellman.com

Parties 

Nyfosa Finland AB

Transaction 

Nyfosa Finland AB acquired properties in the Finnish regional cities of Jyväskylä, Lappeenranta and Kuopio.

Deal Value 

EUR 75.9 million (SEK 767 million)

Role

Counsel to Nyfosa Finland AB

Matti Lajunen

Matti Lajunen

Partner | Helsinki
matti.lajunen@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Wood

Mikael Wood

Associate | Helsinki
mikael.wood@hannessnellman.com
Paavo Romakkaniemi

Paavo Romakkaniemi

Associate | Helsinki
paavo.romakkaniemi@hannessnellman.com

Parties 

Nyfosa Finland AB

Transaction 

Counsel to Nyfosa in acquisition of six properties in the Finnish cities of Hyvinkää, Oulu and Tampere. 

Deal Value 

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Nyfosa Finland AB

Matti Lajunen

Matti Lajunen

Partner | Helsinki
matti.lajunen@hannessnellman.com
Paavo Romakkaniemi

Paavo Romakkaniemi

Associate | Helsinki
paavo.romakkaniemi@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Wood

Mikael Wood

Associate | Helsinki
mikael.wood@hannessnellman.com
Marika Sorsa

Marika Sorsa

Counsel | Helsinki
marika.sorsa@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Stabo

Mikael Stabo

Partner | Stockholm
Mikael.Stabo@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Castellum, Kielo, Blackstone Tactical Opportunities, Brunswick Real Estate.

Transaction

Hannes Snellman acted as counsel to Castellum in its acquisition of property company Kielo from Blackstone Tactical Opportunities and Brunswick Real Estate.

Deal Value

EUR 640 million

Role

Counsel to Castellum

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner | Helsinki
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Stabo

Mikael Stabo

Partner | Stockholm
Mikael.Stabo@hannessnellman.com
Katja Heikkinen

Katja Heikkinen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
katja.heikkinen@hannessnellman.com
Paavo Romakkaniemi

Paavo Romakkaniemi

Associate | Helsinki
paavo.romakkaniemi@hannessnellman.com
Julia Ranta

Julia Ranta

Associate | Helsinki
julia.ranta@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Wood

Mikael Wood

Associate | Helsinki
mikael.wood@hannessnellman.com
Andreas Wingren

Andreas Wingren

Associate | Stockholm
andreas.wingren@hannessnellman.com
Alexander Lindqvist

Alexander Lindqvist

Senior Associate | Stockholm
alexander.lindqvist@hannessnellman.com
Oliver Vesterlund

Oliver Vesterlund

Associate | Helsinki
oliver.vesterlund@hannessnellman.com
Susanna Purovirta

Susanna Purovirta

Senior Associate | Helsinki
susanna.purovirta@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Ingrid Remmelgas

Ingrid Remmelgas

Counsel | Helsinki
ingrid.remmelgas@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com

Education and Professional Background

  • Associate, Hannes Snellman, 2021-
  • Aberdeen University, LL.M Energy & Environmental Law, 2019
  • The Hague University, LL.B International & European Law, 2018
  • Legal trainee, Philips, 2018
  • Legal trainee, Council of the European Union, 2018
  • Legal trainee, BG & Partners, 2016