People

Heikki Majamaa

Counsel | Helsinki

Heikki advises clients on all types of financing transactions with particular focus on bank lending, acquisition financing, real estate and project financing, securitisation, structured financing and issues in the area of property law. Heikki has also been involved in several restructuring assignments and the preparation of security enforcement procedures.

In addition to Heikki's experience within finance he has a special focus on environmental and natural resources law and he has advised on a significant number of highly complex environmental law issues.


References

The Supreme Court decided the question of whether the bankruptcy estate is obligated to prepare an account to the mortgagee without delay after the sale of a parcel of real property registration unit, or alternatively, only after the real property registration unit is sold in its entirety under circumstances where allegedly the sold part could be of more value than the whole unit if sold unparcelled. Upholding the decisions of the lower courts, the Supreme Court came to the conclusion that the account and related payment must be made immediately after the sale of any part of the pledged property.

Jan Lilius

Jan Lilius

Counsel | Helsinki
jan.lilius@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Counsel | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Nykredit Realkredit A/S, Nykredit Bank A/S, Areim, GE Healthcare Finland

Transaction

Counsel to Nykredit Realkredit A/S and Nykredit Bank A/S in financing the acquisition of an office building in Helsinki by Areim from GE Healthcare Finland

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Nykredit Realkredit A/S and Nykredit Bank A/S

Antti Alanko

Antti Alanko

Partner | Helsinki
antti.alanko@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Counsel | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Heino

Sanna Heino

Associate | Helsinki
sanna.heino@hannessnellman.com
Albert Danielsson

Albert Danielsson

Senior Associate | Stockholm
albert.danielsson@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to a Finnish bank in a series of litigation against a company and the owner of the company in connection with collection of receivables, bankruptcy filing and enforcement of court judgements.

Jan Lilius

Jan Lilius

Counsel | Helsinki
jan.lilius@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Counsel | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Deutsche Asset & Wealth Management

Transaction

Deutsche Asset & Wealth Management's acquisition of a prime logistics facility in Aviapolis. The acquired complex comprises 42,000 square meters spread across an extensive distribution warehouse, cross-dock facility and stand-alone office complex.

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Deutsche Asset & Wealth Management

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Antti Antikainen

Antti Antikainen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
antti.antikainen@hannessnellman.com
Ninja Pyy

Ninja Pyy

Associate | Helsinki
ninja.pyy@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Counsel | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Elementis plc (Buyer), Mondo Minerals B.V. (Target)

Transaction

A proposed acquisition of Mondo Minerals B.V. by Elementis plc

Deal Value

USD 600 million

Role

Counsel to Elementis plc

Outi Raitasuo

Outi Raitasuo

Partner | Helsinki
outi.raitasuo@hannessnellman.com
Henrik Hautamäki

Henrik Hautamäki

Senior Associate | Helsinki
henrik.hautamaki@hannessnellman.com
Mari Pihalehto

Mari Pihalehto

Associate | Helsinki
mari.pihalehto@hannessnellman.com
Matias Moberg

Matias Moberg

Associate | Helsinki
matias.moberg@hannessnellman.com
Noora Britschgi

Noora Britschgi

Senior Associate | Helsinki
noora.britschgi@hannessnellman.com
Carolina Lefort Ahokanto

Carolina Lefort Ahokanto

Associate | Helsinki
carolina.lefortahokanto@hannessnellman.com
Emilia Uusitalo

Emilia Uusitalo

Associate | Helsinki
emilia.uusitalo@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Metsä-Simola

Klaus Metsä-Simola

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
klaus.metsa-simola@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Counsel | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Keskinäinen Eläkevakuutusyhtiö Ilmarinen, Sotkamo Silver Oy

Transaction

Keskinäinen Eläkevakuutusyhtiö Ilmarinen's investment in connection with the issuance of the EUR 13,200,000 senior secured fixed rate notes by Sotkamo Silver Oy

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Keskinäinen Eläkevakuutusyhtiö Ilmarinen

Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Counsel | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com

Parties

LAK Real Estate Oy, Finavia Oyj, Pontos Aero Oy, fund managed by NREP

Transaction

Counsel to LAK Real Estate Oy as borrower for secured bank loan facilities entered into in connection with acquisition of a majority interest in Finavia Oyj’s subsidiary, LAK Real Estate, by Pontos Aero Oy and a fund managed by NREP

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to LAK Real Estate Oy

Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Counsel | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com

Parties

OP Yrityspankki Oyj

Transaction

OP Yrityspankki Oyj's financing of total EUR 100,000,000 forest asset secured loan facilities in Finland.

Deal Value

EUR 100 million

Role

Counsel to OP Yrityspankki Oyj

Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Counsel | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Sampo plc, Terrafame Ltd

Transaction

Sampo plc's financing of Terrafame Ltd, a Finnish multi-metal company producing primarily nickel and zinc by bioheapleaching at its mine located in Sotkamo.

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Sampo plc

Antti Alanko

Antti Alanko

Partner | Helsinki
antti.alanko@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Counsel | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Lemminkäinen Corporation and YIT Corporation

Transaction

The combination of Lemminkäinen Corporation and YIT Corporation through a statutory merger

Deal Value

EUR 771 million

Role

Counsel to Lemminkäinen

Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner | Helsinki
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Elina Toivakainen

Elina Toivakainen

Counsel | Helsinki
elina.toivakainen@hannessnellman.com
Laura Tavakka

Laura Tavakka

Senior Associate | Helsinki
laura.tavakka@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Counsel | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Kostiainen

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jesper.kostiainen@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Counsel | Helsinki
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Associate | Helsinki
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Stefan Stellato

Stefan Stellato

Associate | Helsinki
stefan.stellato@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to an international bank syndicate as a member of Creditors' Committee in an unique and complex cross border restructuring of a group of companies undergoing simultaneous formal restructuring proceedings in Finland and Sweden.

Jan Lilius

Jan Lilius

Counsel | Helsinki
jan.lilius@hannessnellman.com
Henrik Mattson

Henrik Mattson

Partner | Helsinki
henrik.mattson@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Counsel | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Lotta Hemmi

Lotta Hemmi

Senior Associate | Helsinki
lotta.hemmi@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Eurus Energy Holdings Corporation (Buyer), Maas Capital Renewables (Seller) and YARD ENERGY (Seller)

Transaction

Eurus Energy Holdings Corporation's acquisition of two wind farms in Finland from Maas Capital Renewables and YARD ENERGY

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Eurus Energy Holdings Corporation

Rabbe Sittnikow

Rabbe Sittnikow

Partner | Helsinki
rabbe.sittnikow@hannessnellman.com
Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Metsä-Simola

Klaus Metsä-Simola

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
klaus.metsa-simola@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Counsel | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Janne Veneranta

Janne Veneranta

Senior Associate | Helsinki
janne.veneranta@hannessnellman.com
Katja Heikkinen

Katja Heikkinen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
katja.heikkinen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Veolia, Neste and Borealis

Transaction

A transaction creating a JV with Neste and Borealis to build a new combined heat and power plant and produce and supply steam and other utilities to Neste's refinery and Borealis' petrochemical plant in Porvoo, Finland

Deal Value

Approximately EUR 350 million

Role

Counsel to Veolia

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner | Helsinki
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Counsel | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Katja Heikkinen

Katja Heikkinen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
katja.heikkinen@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Metsä-Simola

Klaus Metsä-Simola

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
klaus.metsa-simola@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Anna-Maria Tamminen

Anna-Maria Tamminen

Partner | Helsinki
anna-maria.tamminen@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to TuuliWatti Oy in permitting of several wind farms in Finland.

Heini Aavaranta

Heini Aavaranta

Associate | Helsinki
heini.aavaranta@hannessnellman.com
Noora Britschgi

Noora Britschgi

Senior Associate | Helsinki
noora.britschgi@hannessnellman.com
Katja Heikkinen

Katja Heikkinen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
katja.heikkinen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Counsel | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Metsä-Simola

Klaus Metsä-Simola

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
klaus.metsa-simola@hannessnellman.com
Rabbe Sittnikow

Rabbe Sittnikow

Partner | Helsinki
rabbe.sittnikow@hannessnellman.com
Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Member of the Finnish Bar Association

Publications

  • "Sähköiset panttikirjat rahoitustransaktioissa", article published in the Finnish Bar Association's Defensor Legis Journal N:o 3, 2017, regarding use of electronic mortgage notes in financing transactions. The article was rewarded with Law Journal Defensor Legis’ Authors’ Award 2017. 
  • Co-author with Markus Bremer, "Osakepanttirealisaation toteuttaminen itsekontrahointina", article published in the Finnish Bar Association's Defensor Legis N:o 4, 2010, regarding share pledge enforcement option through private sale to the pledgee.

Education and Professional Background

  • Counsel, Hannes Snellman, 2017
  • Legal Counsel (Secondment), Nordea Pankki Suomi Oyj, (December) 2014 – (March) 2015
  • Senior Associate, Hannes Snellman, 2011
  • Associate Lawyer, Hannes Snellman, 2007
  • Trained on the Bench, District Court of Tuusula, 2006-2007
  • Master of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2006