People

Philip Thorell

Managing Associate | Stockholm

Philip Thorell advises clients in all types of competition law matters, such as merger control, compliance, and investigations. He regularly acts as counsel to clients in matters before competition authorities, including many of the Swedish Competition Authority’s largest investigations in recent years.

Furthermore, Philip advises clients in all aspects of public procurement law, including in reviewing and preparing tenders, reviewing procurement documents, managing contacts and negotiations with authorities, day-to-day advice in relation to public contracts and public procurement aspects in M&A. He also represents clients in court procedures connected to public procurements.


References

Parties

Nordic Metal Holdings (Buyer), Alumeco Group (Target)

Transaction

Hannes Snellman advised Nordic Metal Holdings in its acquisition of Alumeco Group, a metal wholesaler primarily within aluminum. 

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Nordic Metal Holdings

Rabbe Sittnikow

Rabbe Sittnikow

Partner | Helsinki
rabbe.sittnikow@hannessnellman.com
Richard Åkerman

Richard Åkerman

Partner | Stockholm
richard.akerman@hannessnellman.com
Annika Schauman

Annika Schauman

Managing Associate | Helsinki
annika.schauman@hannessnellman.com
Moa Fritzon Torbjelt

Moa Fritzon Torbjelt

Senior Associate | Stockholm
moa.fritzon-torbjelt@hannessnellman.com
Jonas Sjöberg

Jonas Sjöberg

Senior Associate | Stockholm
jonas.sjoberg@hannessnellman.com
Santeri Jääskeläinen

Santeri Jääskeläinen

Associate | Helsinki
santeri.jaaskelainen@hannessnellma.com
Juha Ellonen

Juha Ellonen

Associate | Helsinki
juha.ellonen@hannessnellman.com
Josephine Lindgren

Josephine Lindgren

Senior Associate | Stockholm
josephine.lindgren@hannessnellman.com
Risto Ojakoski

Risto Ojakoski

Associate | Helsinki
risto.ojakoski@hannessnellman.com
Wilhelm Sanmark

Wilhelm Sanmark

Associate | Helsinki
wilhelm.sanmark@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Jaatinen

Anniina Jaatinen

Associate | Helsinki
anniina.jaatinen@hannessnellman.com
Hilma Mäkitalo

Hilma Mäkitalo

Associate | Helsinki
hilma.makitalo@hannessnellman.com
Philip Thorell

Philip Thorell

Managing Associate | Stockholm
philip.thorell@hannessnellman.com
Tiia Mäki

Tiia Mäki

Associate | Helsinki
tiia.maki@hannessnellman.com
Tanja Schnitt

Tanja Schnitt

Associate | Stockholm
tanja.schnitt@hannessnellman.com
Olof Östman

Olof Östman

Associate | Stockholm
olof.ostman@hannessnellman.com
Andreas Wingren

Andreas Wingren

Associate | Stockholm
andreas.wingren@hannessnellman.com
Jens Rönneholm

Jens Rönneholm

Associate | Stockholm
jens.ronneholm@hannessnellman.com

Rankings

  • Recognized as recommended lawyer, EU & Competition, Legal500, 2021
  • Clients describe Philip as “very talented” and “very responsive and competent.”, EU & Competition, Legal500, 2021

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Member of the Swedish Bar Association, 2020

Publications

  • ´Swedish Merger Control Under the Thresholds – the ”particular grounds” rule, its implications and inevitable demise”, Europarättslig tidsskrift, 2019
  • Upphandling av idéburna offentliga partnerskap och icke-ekonomiska tjänster av allmänt intresse, Upphandlingsrättslig tidskrift, 2017

Education and Professional Background

  • Managing Associate, Hannes Snellman, Sweden, 2022
  • Senior Associate, DLA Piper, Sweden, 2021 - 2022
  • Associate, Baker McKenzie, 2016 – 2021
  • Trained on the Bench, Administrative Court of Malmö, 2014 – 2016
  • Master of Laws/ Jur. kand. (LL.M.), Stockholm University, 2013