Services

Joint Ventures & Commercial Cooperation

Hannes Snellman’s Joint Ventures & Commercial Cooperation practice combines the knowledge and experience of all our practice areas when advising clients regarding joint ventures and other strategic partnerships, complex long-term supply, distribution and outsourcing agreements, integrated production sites and other forms of commercial cooperation – whether entered into in the ordinary course of business or in connection with an M&A transaction.

The core team works closely with colleagues in Finance, Tax, Employment and Dispute Resolution, and depending on the relevant industry, with specialists e.g. from our Intellectual Property & Technology, Real Estate and Environment & Natural Resources practice groups with an aim to offer clients comprehensive legal advice.

References

Parties

Oasmia Pharmaceutical AB, Elevar Therapeutics Inc 

Transaction

Advised Oasmia Pharmaceutical AB, listed on Nasdaq Stockholm, Mid Cap, on corporate, disclosure, governance and due diligence matters in connection with Oasmia entering a global strategic partnership with US based Elevar Therapeutics Inc. Hannes Snellman has in this connection also assisted Oasmia and its global/US pharmaceutical counsel.

Deal Value

Value not public 

Role 

Advised Oasmia Pharmaceutical AB

Christoffer Saidac

Christoffer Saidac

Partner | Stockholm
christoffer.saidac@hannessnellman.com
Mattias Friberg

Mattias Friberg

Partner | Stockholm
mattias.friberg@hannessnellman.com
Khaled Talayhan

Khaled Talayhan

Senior Associate | Stockholm
khaled.talayhan@hannessnellman.com
Emma Greiff

Emma Greiff

Associate | Stockholm
emma.greiff@hannessnellman.com

Parties

YIT Corporation, Ålandsbanken

Transaction

YIT and Ålandsbanken entered into an agreement to establish a joint venture company for housing investments

Deal Value

EUR 112 million

Role

Counsel to YIT Corporation

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Sten Olsson

Sten Olsson

Partner | Helsinki
sten.olsson@hannessnellman.com
Olli-Pekka Veranen

Olli-Pekka Veranen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
olli-pekka.veranen@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com
Karoliina Kyläkoski

Karoliina Kyläkoski

Associate | Helsinki
karoliina.kylakoski@hannessnellman.com

Parties

BVB Substrates B.V. and its owners, Vapo Oy and Kekkilä Oy

Transaction

Joint venture by combining BVB Substrates B.V. and Kekkilä Oy to form Kekkilä-BVB Oy, a leading horticultural substrate company in Europe in the market for professional growers and home gardeners

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to BVB Substrates B.V. and its owners

Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner | Helsinki
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Rannikko

Riikka Rannikko

Managing Partner | Helsinki
riikka.rannikko@hannessnellman.com
Erkko Korhonen

Erkko Korhonen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
erkko.korhonen@hannessnellman.com
Maisa Cederström

Maisa Cederström

Senior Associate | Helsinki
maisa.cederstrom@hannessnellman.com
Toni Malminen

Toni Malminen

Counsel | Helsinki
toni.malminen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Oriola Oyj and Kesko Oyj

Transaction

A 50/50 percent joint venture to establish a chain of health, beauty and wellbeing stores across Finland, with the plan to expand the business to include pharmaceuticals if the legislation is amended

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Oriola

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Senior Partner | Helsinki
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner | Helsinki
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Toni Malminen

Toni Malminen

Counsel | Helsinki
toni.malminen@hannessnellman.com
Panu Siitonen

Panu Siitonen

Partner | Helsinki
panu.siitonen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

TH Real Estate (Buyer), Barings Real Estate Advisers (Seller), Kamppi shopping centre (Target)

Transaction

Counsel to Barings Real Estate Advisers, acting on behalf of the Nordic Retail Fund in its disposal of 50% stake in the Kamppi shopping centre. The 50% stake is to be acquired on behalf of TH Real Estate’s flagship’s pan-European investment vehicle, the European Cities Fund, and thereby creating a 50:50 joint venture partnership with Allianz.

Deal Value

Approx. EUR 500 million

Role

Counsel to Barings Real Estate Advisers

Juha Lindström

Juha Lindström

Partner | Helsinki
juha.lindstrom@hannessnellman.com
Ninja Pyy

Ninja Pyy

Associate | Helsinki
ninja.pyy@hannessnellman.com
Antti Antikainen

Antti Antikainen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
antti.antikainen@hannessnellman.com
Tuuli Pikkarainen

Tuuli Pikkarainen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
tuuli.pikkarainen@hannessnellman.com
Heini Aavaranta

Heini Aavaranta

Associate | Helsinki
heini.aavaranta@hannessnellman.com
Katja Heikkinen

Katja Heikkinen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
katja.heikkinen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Verlinvest and China Resources (JV), Oatly (Target)

Transaction

The investment in Oatly by the newly established Joint-Venture Between Verlinvest and China Resources

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Verlinvest and China Resources

Hanna Puranen

Hanna Puranen

Associate | Stockholm
hanna.puranen@hannessnellman.com
Elisabeth Vestin

Elisabeth Vestin

Partner | Stockholm
elisabeth.vestin@hannessnellman.com
Jenny Lundberg

Jenny Lundberg

Specialist Partner | Stockholm
jenny.lundberg@hannessnellman.com
Moa Fritzon Torbjelt

Moa Fritzon Torbjelt

Senior Associate | Stockholm
moa.fritzon-torbjelt@hannessnellman.com

Parties

YIT Corporation, Etera Mutual Pension Insurance Company, Onvest Oy, Fennia Mutual Insurance Company

Transaction

Joint venture of YIT Corporation, Etera Mutual Pension Insurance Company, Onvest Oy, and Fennia Mutual Insurance Company for the implementation of the Mall of Tripla and its parking facilities

Deal Value

Approx. EUR 600 million

Role

Counsel to YIT Corporation

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Tuuli Pikkarainen

Tuuli Pikkarainen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
tuuli.pikkarainen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Uponor and Belkin International

Transaction

A joint venture to pioneer in the development of intelligent water sensing and conservation technology for buildings in the U.S. and Europe.

Deal Value

USD 50 million

Role

Counsel to Uponor

Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner | Helsinki
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Senior Partner | Helsinki
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Panu Siitonen

Panu Siitonen

Partner | Helsinki
panu.siitonen@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Kostiainen

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jesper.kostiainen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Veolia, Neste and Borealis

Transaction

A transaction creating a JV with Neste and Borealis to build a new combined heat and power plant and produce and supply steam and other utilities to Neste's refinery and Borealis' petrochemical plant in Porvoo, Finland

Deal Value

Approximately EUR 350 million

Role

Counsel to Veolia

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner | Helsinki
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Counsel | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Katja Heikkinen

Katja Heikkinen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
katja.heikkinen@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Metsä-Simola

Klaus Metsä-Simola

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
klaus.metsa-simola@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Anna-Maria Tamminen

Anna-Maria Tamminen

Partner | Helsinki
anna-maria.tamminen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

YIT Corporation: the Mall of Tripla shopping centre project

Transaction

YIT and Etera Mutual Pension Insurance Company, Onvest Oy, Fennia Mutual Insurance Company and Fennia Life Insurance Company Ltd have signed a letter of intent on the establishment of a joint venture for the implementation of the Mall of Tripla and its parking facilities

Deal Value

Approx. EUR 600 million

Role

Counsel to YIT Corporation

Parties

Svenska Handelsbanken AB (publ), Branch Operation in Finland

Transaction

Svenska Handelsbanken AB (publ), Branch Operation in Finland in financing the Hansakortteli properties for the joint venture Kauppakeskus Hansa Ky managed by Exilion

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Svenska Handelsbanken AB (publ)

Parties

Vossloh Nordic Switch Systems AB and VR Track Oy

Transaction

Combination of the parties’ turn-out and installation service businesses in Finland into a joint venture structure

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Vossloh Nordic Switch Systems AB

Johan Aalto

Johan Aalto

Partner | Helsinki
johan.aalto@hannessnellman.com
Toni Malminen

Toni Malminen

Counsel | Helsinki
toni.malminen@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Marta Kauppinen

Marta Kauppinen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
marta.kauppinen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Ilmarinen and AMF (Buyer), Kesko (Seller and Co-Investor), 40 retail properties in Finland and Sweden (Target)

Transaction

JV between Kesko, Ilmarinen and AMF concerning the sale and leaseback of a portfolio of 40 retail properties in Sweden and Finland. Kesko continues as an owner of the portfolio, with AMF, Ilmarinen and Kesko having equal shares in the portfolio going forward.

Deal Value

EUR 652 million

Role

Counsel to Ilmarinen and AMF

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Juha Lindström

Juha Lindström

Partner | Helsinki
juha.lindstrom@hannessnellman.com
Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner | Helsinki
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Antti Alanko

Antti Alanko

Partner | Helsinki
antti.alanko@hannessnellman.com
Heini Aavaranta

Heini Aavaranta

Associate | Helsinki
heini.aavaranta@hannessnellman.com
Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Senior Associate | Helsinki
suvi-tuuli.saarnio@hannessnellman.com
Antti Antikainen

Antti Antikainen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
antti.antikainen@hannessnellman.com

Main Contacts

Heidi Haanpää

Partner | Helsinki
+358 9 2288 4206
heidi.haanpaa
@hannessnellman.com

Tuire Kuronen

Partner | Helsinki
+358 9 2288 4341
tuire.kuronen
@hannessnellman.com

Riikka Rannikko

Managing Partner | Helsinki
+358 9 2288 4270
riikka.rannikko
@hannessnellman.com

Richard Åkerman

Partner | Stockholm
richard.akerman
@hannessnellman.com

Team

Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner | Helsinki
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner | Helsinki
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Rannikko

Riikka Rannikko

Managing Partner | Helsinki
riikka.rannikko@hannessnellman.com
Richard Åkerman

Richard Åkerman

Partner | Stockholm
richard.akerman@hannessnellman.com