Services

Financial Services Regulation

Hannes Snellman’s Financial Services Regulation practice advises local and international clients on all aspects of banking, investment, asset management, payment services, insurance, and financial markets law and regulation. Our clients include top-tier banks, investment firms, fund managers, and insurance companies, as well as new entrants to the fast-evolving financial services industry.

The team advises clients on licences and authorisations for local and cross-border activity and marketing and offering requirements for investment funds, derivatives, structured instruments, and other types of financial instruments and insurances. The team also represents clearing and settlement organisations and their members on questions relating to derivatives trading, clearing, and settlement. We are proud to be ISDA’s netting opinion counsel in Finland.

We actively follow the regulatory developments in Finland, Sweden, and the EU, and our understanding of financial regulation enables us to provide practical solutions to clients. We have broad experience in EU, Finnish, and Swedish financial services regulation and we are used to working with the relevant regulators in both Finland and Sweden.

Hannes Snellman’s Financial Services Regulation practice has experience within banking, finance, and capital markets, and we work in close co-operation with our M&A, Tax, Dispute Resolution, and Technology and Data practices.

References

Finnish counsel to Brite AB.

Jari Tukiainen

Jari Tukiainen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
jari.tukiainen@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Associate | Helsinki
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to various UK based banks, fund managers and investment firms as well as Nordic and international entities on their Brexit planning in Finland and Sweden

Jari Tukiainen

Jari Tukiainen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
jari.tukiainen@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com
Senni Mäki-Hallila

Senni Mäki-Hallila

Associate | Helsinki
senni.maki-hallila@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to various UK based investment firms and banks on applying for post-Brexit authorisation from the Finnish Financial Supervisory Authority.

Jari Tukiainen

Jari Tukiainen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
jari.tukiainen@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com
Senni Mäki-Hallila

Senni Mäki-Hallila

Associate | Helsinki
senni.maki-hallila@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Associate | Helsinki
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to various alternative investment fund managers on Finnish and Swedish licencing applications and notification requirements, and assisted in their licence or notification processes with the Finnish and Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority

Jari Tukiainen

Jari Tukiainen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
jari.tukiainen@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com
Senni Mäki-Hallila

Senni Mäki-Hallila

Associate | Helsinki
senni.maki-hallila@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Associate | Helsinki
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to a Swedish credit institution on the implementation of changes to the regulatory treatment of non performing exposures.

Finnish counsel to Nordax Bank AB (publ).

Henrik Mattson

Henrik Mattson

Partner | Helsinki
henrik.mattson@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Associate | Helsinki
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com
Matias Moberg

Matias Moberg

Associate | Helsinki
matias.moberg@hannessnellman.com
Senni Mäki-Hallila

Senni Mäki-Hallila

Associate | Helsinki
senni.maki-hallila@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to an international firm with launching its consumer credit business in Sweden including ownership and management assessments, and the various documentation necessary for regulatory approvals.

Finnish netting counsel to ISDA.

Finnish counsel to CLS.

Jari Tukiainen

Jari Tukiainen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
jari.tukiainen@hannessnellman.com
Henrik Mattson

Henrik Mattson

Partner | Helsinki
henrik.mattson@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to the Finnish State Treasury on financial regulatory and documentation issues.

Finnish and Swedish counsel to SIX x-clear Ltd in their entry to the Nordic market as a central clearing counterparty for NASDAQ OMX originated trades.

Counsel to Euroclear SA/NV on Finnish banking and financial regulatory matters.

Parties

YIT Corporation, Ålandsbanken

Transaction

YIT and Ålandsbanken entered into an agreement to establish a joint venture company for housing investments

Deal Value

EUR 112 million

Role

Counsel to YIT Corporation

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Sten Olsson

Sten Olsson

Partner | Helsinki
sten.olsson@hannessnellman.com
Olli-Pekka Veranen

Olli-Pekka Veranen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
olli-pekka.veranen@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com
Karoliina Kyläkoski

Karoliina Kyläkoski

Associate | Helsinki
karoliina.kylakoski@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Nordea Bank Abp

Transaction

Nordea Bank Abp's issue of U.S.$1,250,000,000 Perpetual Non-Call March 2026 Additional Tier 1 Conversion Notes under the U.S.$25,000,000,000 Global Medium Term Note Programme in March

Deal Value

USD 1,250,000,000

Role

Counsel to Nordea Bank Abp

Henrik Mattson

Henrik Mattson

Partner | Helsinki
henrik.mattson@hannessnellman.com
Lauri Marjamäki

Lauri Marjamäki

Associate | Helsinki
lauri.marjamaki@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Danica Pension A/S (Seller), Dancia Pension Försäkringsbolag AB (Target), Unigestion (Bidder), Acathia Capital GmbH (Bidder), Polaris Private

Transaction

A consortium consisting of Polaris, Acathia, Unigestion, and other co-investors has acquired Danica Pension Försäkringsaktiebolag (publ)

Deal Value

SEK 2.6 billion

Role

Counsel to Unigestion

Claes Kjellberg

Claes Kjellberg

Partner | Stockholm
claes.kjellberg@hannessnellman.com
Paula Röttorp

Paula Röttorp

Partner | Stockholm
paula.rottorp@hannessnellman.com
Klara Kjellberg

Klara Kjellberg

Managing Associate | Stockholm
klara.kjellberg@hannessnellman.com
Carolina Wahlby

Carolina Wahlby

Specialist Partner | Stockholm
carolina.wahlby@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Nordea Bank Abp

Transaction

Nordea Bank Abp's establishment of its €50,000,000,000 Euro Medium Term Note Programme

Deal Value

EUR 50,000,000,000

Role

Counsel to Nordea Bank Abp

Henrik Mattson

Henrik Mattson

Partner | Helsinki
henrik.mattson@hannessnellman.com
Janne Veneranta

Janne Veneranta

Senior Associate | Helsinki
janne.veneranta@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Nordea Bank Abp

Transaction

Nordea Bank Abp's establishment of its USD 25,000,000,000 Global Medium-Term Note Programme

Deal Value

USD 25,000,000,000

Role

Counsel to Nordea Bank Abp

Henrik Mattson

Henrik Mattson

Partner | Helsinki
henrik.mattson@hannessnellman.com
Janne Veneranta

Janne Veneranta

Senior Associate | Helsinki
janne.veneranta@hannessnellman.com

Advice in connection with the issuance of Tier 1 and Tier 2 capital base instruments to be issued by Hoist Finance and other regulated entities.

Parties

Telia Company (Buyer), AinaGroup Oyj (Seller), AinaCom Oy (Target)

Transaction

Telia Company’s acquisition of AinaCom Oy from AinaGroup Oyj

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Telia Company

Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner | Helsinki
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Outi Raitasuo

Outi Raitasuo

Partner | Helsinki
outi.raitasuo@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Kuha

Riikka Kuha

Senior Associate | Helsinki
riikka.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Annakaisa Sutinen

Annakaisa Sutinen

Associate | Helsinki
annakaisa.sutinen@hannessnellman.com
Kaisa Himmanen

Kaisa Himmanen

Associate | Helsinki
kaisa.himmanen@hannessnellman.com
Erkko Korhonen

Erkko Korhonen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
erkko.korhonen@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Associate | Helsinki
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com
Mari Miettinen

Mari Miettinen

Associate | Helsinki
mari.miettinen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Commonwealth Bank (Seller), Colonial First State Global Asset Management (Target), Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Corporation (Buyer)

Transaction

Commonwealth Bank's sale of its global asset management business, Colonial First State Global Asset Management (CFSGAM), to Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Corporation

Deal Value

AUD 4.1 billion

Role

Counsel to Commonwealth Bank

Johan Aalto

Johan Aalto

Partner | Helsinki
johan.aalto@hannessnellman.com
Kati Punakallio

Kati Punakallio

Counsel | Helsinki
kati.punakallio@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com
Jari Tukiainen

Jari Tukiainen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
jari.tukiainen@hannessnellman.com
Toni Malminen

Toni Malminen

Counsel | Helsinki
toni.malminen@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to Victory Park Capital Advisors, LCC in connection with their financing of a Swedish payment service provider.

Counsel to BlackRock on Finnish banking and financial regulatory matters.

Counsel to Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Limited on Finnish financial regulatory matters.

Counsel to Bank of America Merrill Lynch on Finnish financial regulatory matters.

Recent Blog Posts


Main Contacts

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
+358 9 2288 4420
sanna.boow
@hannessnellman.com

Henrik Mattson

Partner | Helsinki
+358 9 2288 4285
henrik.mattson
@hannessnellman.com

Paula Röttorp

Partner | Stockholm
paula.rottorp
@hannessnellman.com

Christoffer Saidac

Partner | Stockholm
christoffer.saidac
@hannessnellman.com

Jari Tukiainen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
+358 9 2288 4215
jari.tukiainen
@hannessnellman.com

Team

Rezan Akkurt

Rezan Akkurt

Associate | Stockholm
rezan.akkurt@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com
Albert Danielsson

Albert Danielsson

Senior Associate | Stockholm
albert.danielsson@hannessnellman.com
Emma Greiff

Emma Greiff

Associate | Stockholm
emma.greiff@hannessnellman.com
Linda Launonen

Linda Launonen

Associate | Helsinki
linda.launonen@hannessnellman.com
Marcus Lehtinen

Marcus Lehtinen

Associate | Stockholm
marcus.lehtinen@hannessnellman.com
Henrik Mattson

Henrik Mattson

Partner | Helsinki
henrik.mattson@hannessnellman.com
Senni Mäki-Hallila

Senni Mäki-Hallila

Associate | Helsinki
senni.maki-hallila@hannessnellman.com
Paula Röttorp

Paula Röttorp

Partner | Stockholm
paula.rottorp@hannessnellman.com
Christoffer Saidac

Christoffer Saidac

Partner | Stockholm
christoffer.saidac@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Associate | Helsinki
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com
Jari Tukiainen

Jari Tukiainen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
jari.tukiainen@hannessnellman.com