People

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki

Sanna specialises in funds management and financial services regulation. She has particular expertise in investment funds, asset and wealth management and financial markets, as well as on the establishment of retail investment funds and hedge funds. Sanna advises banks, investment firms, fund managers and other financial markets participants both in Finland and overseas on a wide range of issues within the financial services sector.

Sanna joined Hannes Snellman in 2018 from Chapman Tripp in Auckland. Sanna has also worked as a senior in-house counsel at Société Générale Private Banking in London, and as an associate in the asset management team at an international law firm, Norton Rose Fulbright in London.

Sanna is currently on external secondment. 


References

Parties

Virala Acquisition Company Plc

Transaction

Hannes Snellman acted as legal counsel to Virala Acquisition Company Plc on its IPO and the listing of its Class C shares on the SPAC segment of the regulated market of Nasdaq Helsinki

Deal Value

EUR 107.5 million

Role

Counsel to Virala Acquisition Company Plc

Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner | Helsinki
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Järvinen

Anniina Järvinen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
anniina.jarvinen@hannessnellman.com
Lauri Marjamäki

Lauri Marjamäki

Senior Associate | Helsinki
lauri.marjamaki@hannessnellman.com
Sofi Lehtinen

Sofi Lehtinen

Associate | Helsinki
sofi.lehtinen@hannessnellman.com
Linnea Lehtonen

Linnea Lehtonen

Associate | Helsinki
linnea.lehtonen@hannessnellman.com
Tommi Kovero

Tommi Kovero

Associate | Helsinki
tommi.kovero@hannessnellman.com
Anton Karlais

Anton Karlais

Associate | Helsinki
anton.karlais@hannessnellman.com
Peppi Manninen

Peppi Manninen

Associate | Helsinki
peppi.manninen@hannessnellman.com
Annemari Rosi

Annemari Rosi

Senior Associate | Helsinki
annemari.rosi@hannessnellman.com
Aki Salmela

Aki Salmela

Associate | Helsinki
aki.salmela@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Stefan Stellato

Stefan Stellato

Senior Associate | Helsinki
stefan.stellato@hannessnellman.com
Isabella Kartila

Isabella Kartila

Associate | Helsinki
isabella.kartila@hannessnellman.com
Piia Ahonen

Piia Ahonen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
piia.ahonen@hannessnellman.com
Marika Sorsa

Marika Sorsa

Senior Associate | Helsinki
marika.sorsa@hannessnellman.com
Antti Nyberg (Alanko)

Antti Nyberg (Alanko)

Partner | Helsinki
antti.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Tuomas Toivonen

Tuomas Toivonen

Counsel | Helsinki
tuomas.toivonen@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Aktia Bank Plc

Transaction

Aktia Bank Plc issue of Additional Tier 1 unsecured fixed to fixed rate Finnish law notes of EUR 60 million on 26 May 2021

Deal Value

EUR 60 million

Role

Counsel to Aktia Bank Plc

Henrik Mattson

Henrik Mattson

Partner | Helsinki
henrik.mattson@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Associate | Helsinki
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com
Annemari Rosi

Annemari Rosi

Senior Associate | Helsinki
annemari.rosi@hannessnellman.com
Peppi Manninen

Peppi Manninen

Associate | Helsinki
peppi.manninen@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to various UK based banks, fund managers and investment firms as well as Nordic and international entities on their Brexit planning in Finland and Sweden

Jari Tukiainen

Jari Tukiainen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
jari.tukiainen@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com
Senni Mäki-Hallila

Senni Mäki-Hallila

Associate | Helsinki
senni.maki-hallila@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to various UK based investment firms and banks on applying for post-Brexit authorisation from the Finnish Financial Supervisory Authority.

Jari Tukiainen

Jari Tukiainen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
jari.tukiainen@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com
Senni Mäki-Hallila

Senni Mäki-Hallila

Associate | Helsinki
senni.maki-hallila@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Associate | Helsinki
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to various alternative investment fund managers on Finnish and Swedish licencing applications and notification requirements, and assisted in their licence or notification processes with the Finnish and Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority

Jari Tukiainen

Jari Tukiainen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
jari.tukiainen@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com
Senni Mäki-Hallila

Senni Mäki-Hallila

Associate | Helsinki
senni.maki-hallila@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Associate | Helsinki
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to UBS Europe SE in Finnish financial regulatory matters.

Jari Tukiainen

Jari Tukiainen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
jari.tukiainen@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com
Senni Mäki-Hallila

Senni Mäki-Hallila

Associate | Helsinki
senni.maki-hallila@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Associate | Helsinki
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

YIT Corporation, Ålandsbanken

Transaction

YIT and Ålandsbanken entered into an agreement to establish a joint venture company for housing investments

Deal Value

EUR 112 million

Role

Counsel to YIT Corporation

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Sten Olsson

Sten Olsson

Partner | Helsinki
sten.olsson@hannessnellman.com
Olli-Pekka Veranen

Olli-Pekka Veranen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
olli-pekka.veranen@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Telia Company (Buyer), AinaGroup Oyj (Seller), AinaCom Oy (Target)

Transaction

Telia Company’s acquisition of AinaCom Oy from AinaGroup Oyj

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Telia Company

Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner | Helsinki
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Outi Raitasuo

Outi Raitasuo

Partner | Helsinki
outi.raitasuo@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Kuha

Riikka Kuha

Senior Associate | Helsinki
riikka.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Kaisa Himmanen

Kaisa Himmanen

Associate | Helsinki
kaisa.himmanen@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Senior Associate | Helsinki
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com
Mari Miettinen

Mari Miettinen

Associate | Helsinki
mari.miettinen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Commonwealth Bank (Seller), Colonial First State Global Asset Management (Target), Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Corporation (Buyer)

Transaction

Commonwealth Bank's sale of its global asset management business, Colonial First State Global Asset Management (CFSGAM), to Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Corporation

Deal Value

AUD 4.1 billion

Role

Counsel to Commonwealth Bank

Johan Aalto

Johan Aalto

Partner | Helsinki
johan.aalto@hannessnellman.com
Kati Punakallio

Kati Punakallio

Counsel | Helsinki
kati.punakallio@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com
Jari Tukiainen

Jari Tukiainen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
jari.tukiainen@hannessnellman.com
Toni Malminen

Toni Malminen

Counsel | Helsinki
toni.malminen@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to alternative investment fund managers and investment firms on Finnish licencing applications and notification requirements, and assisted in their licence or notification processes with the Finnish Financial Supervisory Authority

Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to financial services providers on applications to, and negotiations with, regulators

Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to clients on anti-money laundering compliance

Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com


Education and Professional Background

  • Counsel, Hannes Snellman, 2018- 
  • Senior Legal Adviser, Chapman Tripp, Auckland, 20132018
  • Senior Legal Adviser, Société Générale Private Banking Hambros, London, 20112013
  • Associate, Norton Rose Fullbright, London, 20052011
  • Secondment, Norton Rose Fullbright (Middle East), Dubai, 2008 
  • Associate, Dittmar & Indrenius, Helsinki, 20012004
  • Trained on the Bench, District Court of Kouvola, 2000-2001
  • LL.M. in Corporate and Securities Law, University College London, 2005
  • Master of Laws, University of Turku, 2000
  • Erasmus exchange year, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium, 19971998 

Blog Posts By Sanna Boow


Read More About Sanna