People

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel | Helsinki

Päivi Tammilehto has extensive experience in all fields of competition law. She advises our international and Finnish clients in antitrust issues, competition investigations and litigation, state aid cases, and merger control procedures. Prior to joining Hannes Snellman, Päivi worked in the international competition law group of a global law firm. Before transitioning into private practice in 2017, Päivi lead antitrust investigations and proceedings for the national competition authority.

In addition to her legal degree, Päivi also has a master’s degree in economics for competition law.

She is responsive, to-the-point and business-oriented.

Legal 500, 2023


References

Parties:

Prime Minister’s Office, Finnair Plc

Transaction:

Hannes Snellman acted as counsel to the Prime Minister’s Office in the rights offering of Finnair Plc, the Finnish airline with the State of Finland being the majority owner. Hannes Snellman advised, among other, on the share subscription made by the State of Finland by way of offsetting, in part, a capital loan provided by the State of Finland to Finnair, and related state-aid law matters. The rights offering of EUR 570 million is one of the largest rights offerings in Finland in recent years.

Deal value:

Approximately EUR 570 million

Role:

Counsel to Prime Minister’s Office

Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws | Helsinki
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Rannikko

Riikka Rannikko

Managing Partner | Helsinki
riikka.rannikko@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Robert Gordin

Robert Gordin

Associate | Helsinki
robert.gordin@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel | Helsinki
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com
Jon Termonen

Jon Termonen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jon.termonen@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Uponor Corporation (target), Georg Fischer Ltd (buyer)

Transaction: 

Counsel to Uponor Corporation in the recommended public cash tender offer by Georg Fischer Ltd to purchase all of the issued and outstanding shares of Uponor Corporation. 

Value:

EUR 2.1 billion

Role:

Counsel to Uponor Corporation

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws | Helsinki
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner | Helsinki
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Aki Salmela

Aki Salmela

Associate | Helsinki
aki.salmela@hannessnellman.com
Jon Termonen

Jon Termonen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jon.termonen@hannessnellman.com
Viola Karjalainen

Viola Karjalainen

Associate | Helsinki
viola.karjalainen@hannessnellman.com
Roope Sevón

Roope Sevón

Associate | Helsinki
roope.sevon@hannessnellman.com
Wilma Montonen

Wilma Montonen

Associate | Helsinki
wilma.montonen@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel | Helsinki
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com
Helena Lamminen

Helena Lamminen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
helena.lamminen@hannessnellman.com
Essi Ellman

Essi Ellman

Associate | Helsinki
essi.ellman@hannessnellman.com
Sofia Saarelainen

Sofia Saarelainen

Associate | Helsinki
sofia.saarelainen@hannessnellman.com
 Annika  Grönholm

Annika Grönholm

Associate | Helsinki
annika.gronholm@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Parviainen

Jenni Parviainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jenni.parviainen@hannessnellman.com
Isabella Kartila

Isabella Kartila

Senior Associate | Helsinki
isabella.kartila@hannessnellman.com
Melisa Göllü

Melisa Göllü

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
melisa.gollu@hannessnellman.com
Janika Vallila

Janika Vallila

Executive Assistant | Helsinki
janika.vallila@hannessnellman.com
Monika Parkkinen

Monika Parkkinen

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
monika.parkkinen@hannessnellman.com
Anni Nohteri

Anni Nohteri

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
anni.nohteri@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Infranode, MPY Telecom Oyj

Transaction:

Infranode’s acquisition of MPY Telecom Oyj

Role:

Counsel to Infranode

Rabbe Sittnikow

Rabbe Sittnikow

Partner | Helsinki
rabbe.sittnikow@hannessnellman.com
Annika Schauman

Annika Schauman

Managing Associate | Helsinki
Janna Pihanurmi

Janna Pihanurmi

Associate | Helsinki
janna.pihanurmi@hannessnellman.com
Niclas Ruotsalainen

Niclas Ruotsalainen

Associate | Helsinki
niclas.ruotsalainen@hannessnellman.com
Santeri Jääskeläinen

Santeri Jääskeläinen

Associate | Helsinki
santeri.jaaskelainen@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Hämäläinen

Anniina Hämäläinen

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
anniina.hamalainen@hannessnellman.com
Matias Moberg

Matias Moberg

Managing Associate | Helsinki
matias.moberg@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com
Ville Säteri

Ville Säteri

Associate | Helsinki
ville.sateri@hannessnellman.com
Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner | Helsinki
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Kuha

Riikka Kuha

Senior Associate | Helsinki
riikka.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com
Anna Mäkinen

Anna Mäkinen

Associate | Helsinki
anna.makinen@hannessnellman.com
Julia Ranta

Julia Ranta

Associate | Helsinki
julia.ranta@hannessnellman.com
Alisa Ainonen

Alisa Ainonen

Associate | Helsinki
alisa.ainonen@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel | Helsinki
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com
Laura Sainio

Laura Sainio

Associate | Helsinki
laura.sainio@hannessnellman.com

Parties: 

Methode Electronics, Inc., Nordic Lights Group Corporation

Transaction:

Methode Electronics, Inc.'s recommended public cash tender offer for all shares in Nordic Lights Group Corporation

Deal Value:

EUR 132 million

Role:

Counsel to Methode Electronics, Inc.

Johan Aalto

Johan Aalto

Partner | Helsinki
johan.aalto@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Järvinen

Anniina Järvinen

Partner | Helsinki
anniina.jarvinen@hannessnellman.com
Marcus Lehtinen

Marcus Lehtinen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
marcus.lehtinen@hannessnellman.com
Robert Gordin

Robert Gordin

Associate | Helsinki
robert.gordin@hannessnellman.com
Joonas Vartia

Joonas Vartia

Associate | Helsinki
joonas.vartia@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Kuha

Riikka Kuha

Senior Associate | Helsinki
riikka.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner | Helsinki
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Essi Ellman

Essi Ellman

Associate | Helsinki
essi.ellman@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel | Helsinki
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com
Anna Mäkinen

Anna Mäkinen

Associate | Helsinki
anna.makinen@hannessnellman.com
Hilma Mäkitalo-Saarinen

Hilma Mäkitalo-Saarinen

Associate | Helsinki
hilma.makitalo-saarinen@hannessnellman.com
Simon Mittler

Simon Mittler

Associate | Helsinki
simon.mittler@hannessnellman.com
Ingrid Remmelgas

Ingrid Remmelgas

Counsel | Helsinki
ingrid.remmelgas@hannessnellman.com
Ville Säteri

Ville Säteri

Associate | Helsinki
ville.sateri@hannessnellman.com
Kerttu Pahta

Kerttu Pahta

Associate | Helsinki
kerttu.pahta@hannessnellman.com
Rebecca Osola

Rebecca Osola

Senior Legal Assistant | Helsinki
rebecca.osola@hannessnellman.com
Monika Parkkinen

Monika Parkkinen

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
monika.parkkinen@hannessnellman.com
Karoliina Kaartinen

Karoliina Kaartinen

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
karoliina.kaartinen@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Exilion Wind, BayWa r.e. Nordic

Transaction:

Exilion Wind's and BayWa r.e. Nordic's wind power joint venture. Through the joint venture, the co-investors will invest and develop the Karhakkamaa wind farm project, which is envisaged to consist of 48 wind turbines with an installed capacity of approximately 350MW.

Deal Value: 

Value not public

Role:

Counsel to Exilion Wind

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Katja Heikkinen

Katja Heikkinen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
katja.heikkinen@hannessnellman.com
Maria Landtman

Maria Landtman

Partner | Helsinki
maria.landtman@hannessnellman.com
Ida Viitamäki

Ida Viitamäki

Senior Associate | Helsinki
ida.viitamaki@hannessnellman.com
Alisa Ainonen

Alisa Ainonen

Associate | Helsinki
alisa.ainonen@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel | Helsinki
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Stora Enso Oyj, UPM-Kymmene Group, Metsä Group, Sonoco-Alcore, other sellers (Sellers), Stena Recycling Oy (Buyer), Encore Ympäristöpalvelut Oy (Target)

Transaction

Sale of Encore Ympäristöpalvelut Oy to Stena Recycling Oy

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Stora Enso Oyj, UPM-Kymmene Group, Metsä Group, Sonoco-Alcore, and other sellers

Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner | Helsinki
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Susanna Purovirta

Susanna Purovirta

Senior Associate | Helsinki
susanna.purovirta@hannessnellman.com
Joonas Vartia

Joonas Vartia

Associate | Helsinki
joonas.vartia@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel | Helsinki
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Metsä-Simola

Klaus Metsä-Simola

Partner | Helsinki
klaus.metsa-simola@hannessnellman.com
Anna Mäkinen

Anna Mäkinen

Associate | Helsinki
anna.makinen@hannessnellman.com
Wilhelm Sanmark

Wilhelm Sanmark

Associate | Helsinki
wilhelm.sanmark@hannessnellman.com
Panu Vikberg

Panu Vikberg

Senior Associate | Helsinki
panu.vikberg@hannessnellman.com
Marta Kauppinen

Marta Kauppinen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
marta.kauppinen@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Veolia Services Suomi Oy, Metsä Fibre

Transaction:

Veolia Services Suomi Oy’s project to build a crude methanol processing plant in connection with Metsä Fibre's Äänekoski bioproduct mill plant in Äänekoski

Deal Value:

Value not public

Role:

Counsel to Veolia Services Suomi Oy

Katja Perätalo

Katja Perätalo

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
katja.peratalo@hannessnellman.com
Maria Landtman

Maria Landtman

Partner | Helsinki
maria.landtman@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Nuutila

Emmi Nuutila

Senior Associate | Helsinki
emmi.nuutila@hannessnellman.com
Kristina Leibssle

Kristina Leibssle

Senior Associate | Helsinki
kristina.leibssle@hannessnellman.com
Anna-Maria Tamminen

Anna-Maria Tamminen

Partner | Helsinki
anna-maria.tamminen@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Metsä-Simola

Klaus Metsä-Simola

Partner | Helsinki
klaus.metsa-simola@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel | Helsinki
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Gasgrid Finland Oy, Excelerate Energy

Transaction:

Gasgrid Finland Oy's chartering of an LNG Floating Storage and Regasification Unit from Excelerate Energy.

Deal Value:

EUR 460 million

Role:

Counsel to Gasgrid Finland Oy

Rabbe Sittnikow

Rabbe Sittnikow

Partner | Helsinki
rabbe.sittnikow@hannessnellman.com
Janna Pihanurmi

Janna Pihanurmi

Associate | Helsinki
janna.pihanurmi@hannessnellman.com
Meri-Katriina Pyhäranta

Meri-Katriina Pyhäranta

Counsel | Helsinki
meri-katriina.pyharanta@hannessnellman.com
Santeri Jääskeläinen

Santeri Jääskeläinen

Associate | Helsinki
santeri.jaaskelainen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel | Helsinki
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com
Outi Jousi

Outi Jousi

Counsel | Helsinki
outi.jousi@hannessnellman.com
Annika Tiitola

Annika Tiitola

Associate | Helsinki
annika.tiitola@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Metsä-Simola

Klaus Metsä-Simola

Partner | Helsinki
klaus.metsa-simola@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner | Helsinki
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Hämäläinen

Anniina Hämäläinen

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
anniina.hamalainen@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Anna Nyberg

Anna Nyberg

Associate | Helsinki
anna.nyberg@hannessnellman.com

Rankings

  • Päivi Tammilehto is a very skilful professional with in-depth knowledge of competition law. She is truly interested in the assignments and client’s benefit so it is a pleasure to work with her. Her background from the Finnish competition authority gives her an advantageous insight and broad perspective. She has a pragmatic and clear way of communication so even complex matters feel comprehensive with her. I want to commend Päivi Tammilehto. She is responsive, to-the-point and business-oriented. She asks the right questions industry-wise and I know she is tailoring her analysis according to the specifics of our business, not just stating the legalese. Overall, very nice to work with and is my go-to person for competition law advice., EU and Competition, Legal 500, 2023
  • '‘Päivi Tammilehto is absolutely the best professional that I have worked with. She has extremely wide knowledge about competition legislation and she has a very professional way to tell us what would be the best thing for our company. Päivi is my top person who I turn to whenever I need any kind of legal advice.’, Legal 500, 2020

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Member of the Finnish Bar Association     
  • Member of the Finnish Competition Law Association     

Education and Professional Background

  • Counsel, Hannes Snellman, 2022–
  • Counsel, Senior Associate, Bird & Bird Attorneys Ltd, 2017–2022
  • Master of Arts, Economics for Competition Law, King’s College London, 2013–2014
  • Post Graduate Diploma, Economics for Competition Law, King’s College London, 2010­–2011
  • Head of Research, Senior Research Officer, Research Officer, Finnish Competition and Consumer Authority, 2002–2017
  • Master of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2002