People

Maria Wasastjerna

Partner | Helsinki

Maria Wasastjerna has extensive experience in competition law and regulatory matters. She advises Finnish and international companies on all aspects of competition law, specialising in regulatory legal and compliance matters, as well as in competition litigation and M&A transactions. Prior to joining Hannes Snellman, Maria gained several years of experience as an in-house lawyer in global corporations, most recently as a lead counsel for global competition law and policy at Nokia Corporation. Maria also has working experience from the EU and US competition regulators in Brussels and Washington, DC.

Maria has a PhD in competition law from the University of Helsinki. She recently published a book on competition, data, and privacy in the digital economy with Kluwer Law International. Maria regularly publishes articles, presents at conferences, and lectures on competition, compliance, and technology-related topics. She is a qualified attorney in Finland and the State of New York (US) and has been ranked in Legal 500 for her work in EU and competition law.

Maria can identify the essential and solve problems with a very strong business mindset. In addition, she is extremely nice to work with.

EU & Competition | Legal 500, 2020


References

Parties:

Cargotec Corporation, Konecranes Plc

Transaction:

Merger of Cargotec Corporation and Konecranes Plc

Deal value:

Approx. EUR 2.7 billion

Role:

Counsel to Konecranes Plc

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Senior Partner | Helsinki
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Henrik Hautamäki

Henrik Hautamäki

Senior Associate | Helsinki
henrik.hautamaki@hannessnellman.com
Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner | Helsinki
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Outi Raitasuo

Outi Raitasuo

Partner | Helsinki
outi.raitasuo@hannessnellman.com
David Olander

David Olander

Senior Associate | Stockholm
david.olander@hannessnellman.com
Peter Forsberg

Peter Forsberg

Partner | Stockholm
peter.forsberg@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Associate | Helsinki
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Ingrid Remmelgas

Ingrid Remmelgas

Senior Associate | Helsinki
ingrid.remmelgas@hannessnellman.com
Sini Paajanen

Sini Paajanen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
sini.paajanen@hannessnellman.com
Matias Moberg

Matias Moberg

Associate | Helsinki
matias.moberg@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Kuha

Riikka Kuha

Senior Associate | Helsinki
riikka.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Kaisa Himmanen

Kaisa Himmanen

Associate | Helsinki
kaisa.himmanen@hannessnellman.com
Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Associate | Helsinki
agda.vaha-piikkio@hannessnellman.com
Linnea Lehtonen

Linnea Lehtonen

Associate | Helsinki
linnea.lehtonen@hannessnellman.com
Maria Wasastjerna

Maria Wasastjerna

Partner | Helsinki
maria.wasastjerna@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Associate | Helsinki
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Parviainen

Jenni Parviainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jenni.parviainen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Khaled Talayhan

Khaled Talayhan

Senior Associate | Stockholm
khaled.talayhan@hannessnellman.com
Mattias Friberg

Mattias Friberg

Partner | Stockholm
mattias.friberg@hannessnellman.com
Marc Tevell de Falck

Marc Tevell de Falck

Associate | Stockholm
marc.tevelldefalck@hannessnellman.com
Carolina Lefort Ahokanto

Carolina Lefort Ahokanto

Associate | Helsinki
carolina.lefortahokanto@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Ahlstrom-Munksjö Oyj (target), a consortium consisting of Ahlström Capital, Bain Capital Private Equity, Viknum and Belgrano Inversiones (buyer)

Transaction

Recommended public cash tender offer for all shares in Ahlstrom-Munksjö Oyj by Spa Holdings 3 Oy

Deal value

Approximately EUR 2.1 billion

Role

Counsel to the consortium

Johan Aalto

Johan Aalto

Partner | Helsinki
johan.aalto@hannessnellman.com
Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner | Helsinki
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Mattias Friberg

Mattias Friberg

Partner | Stockholm
mattias.friberg@hannessnellman.com
Antti Kuha

Antti Kuha

Managing Associate | Helsinki
antti.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Lauri Marjamäki

Lauri Marjamäki

Associate | Helsinki
lauri.marjamaki@hannessnellman.com
Anna Sahrakorpi

Anna Sahrakorpi

Associate | Helsinki
anna.sahrakorpi@hannessnellman.com
Annemari Rosi

Annemari Rosi

Senior Associate | Helsinki
annemari.rosi@hannessnellman.com
Khaled Talayhan

Khaled Talayhan

Senior Associate | Stockholm
khaled.talayhan@hannessnellman.com
Taina Metso

Taina Metso

Associate | Helsinki
taina.metso@hannessnellman.com
Annakaisa Sutinen

Annakaisa Sutinen

Associate | Helsinki
annakaisa.sutinen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Stefan Stellato

Stefan Stellato

Associate | Helsinki
stefan.stellato@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Counsel | Helsinki
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com
Matleena Pälve

Matleena Pälve

Senior Associate | Helsinki
matleena.palve@hannessnellman.com
Maria Wasastjerna

Maria Wasastjerna

Partner | Helsinki
maria.wasastjerna@hannessnellman.com
Helena Lamminen

Helena Lamminen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
helena.lamminen@hannessnellman.com
Laura Sainio

Laura Sainio

Associate | Helsinki
laura.sainio@hannessnellman.com
Antti Alanko

Antti Alanko

Partner | Helsinki
antti.alanko@hannessnellman.com
Marc Tevell de Falck

Marc Tevell de Falck

Associate | Stockholm
marc.tevelldefalck@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Heino

Sanna Heino

Associate | Helsinki
sanna.heino@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to CBRE in competition and compliance related matters.

Maria Wasastjerna

Maria Wasastjerna

Partner | Helsinki
maria.wasastjerna@hannessnellman.com
Laura Sainio

Laura Sainio

Associate | Helsinki
laura.sainio@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Valmet Oyj (Buyer), Solidium Oyj (Seller)

Transaction

Counsel to Valmet Oyj in the acquisition of future Neles Corporation from Solidium Oy, representing 14.88% of all Neles’ shares and votes. 

Deal Value

EUR 179 million

Role

Counsel to Valmet Oyj

Team

Johan Aalto, Lauri Marjamäki, Anna Sahrakorpi, Maria Wasastjerna

Johan Aalto

Johan Aalto

Partner | Helsinki
johan.aalto@hannessnellman.com
Lauri Marjamäki

Lauri Marjamäki

Associate | Helsinki
lauri.marjamaki@hannessnellman.com
Anna Sahrakorpi

Anna Sahrakorpi

Associate | Helsinki
anna.sahrakorpi@hannessnellman.com
Maria Wasastjerna

Maria Wasastjerna

Partner | Helsinki
maria.wasastjerna@hannessnellman.com

Comprehensive advice on the state aid law for the Prime Minister’s Office concerning the recapitalisation (rights offering) of the state-controlled airline Finnair Plc, including advise on the notification procedure before the European Commission. The rights offering of 500 MEUR is one of the largest rights offerings in Finland in recent years. The Commission’s decision in the case lead to amendments to the COVID-19 related State Aid Temporary Framework.

Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws | Helsinki
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Maria Wasastjerna

Maria Wasastjerna

Partner | Helsinki
maria.wasastjerna@hannessnellman.com
Meri Vanhanen

Meri Vanhanen

Associate | Helsinki
meri.vanhanen@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Pokela

Johanna Pokela

Associate | Helsinki
johanna.pokela@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Associate | Helsinki
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Antti Kuha

Antti Kuha

Managing Associate | Helsinki
antti.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Tommi Kovero

Tommi Kovero

Associate | Helsinki
tommi.kovero@hannessnellman.com
Satu Kokko

Satu Kokko

Associate | Helsinki
satu.kokko@hannessnellman.com

Series of compliance trainings for Nordea in the area of competition law and compliance.

Maria Wasastjerna

Maria Wasastjerna

Partner | Helsinki
maria.wasastjerna@hannessnellman.com
Helena Lamminen

Helena Lamminen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
helena.lamminen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Outotec Oyj, Metso Corporation

Transaction

The combination of Outotec and Metso Minerals through a demerger

Deal Value

EUR 3.9 billion (illustrative combined sales)

Role

Counsel to Outotec Oyj

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Senior Partner | Helsinki
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws | Helsinki
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Outi Raitasuo

Outi Raitasuo

Partner | Helsinki
outi.raitasuo@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Peter Forsberg

Peter Forsberg

Partner | Stockholm
peter.forsberg@hannessnellman.com
Anna-Maria Tamminen

Anna-Maria Tamminen

Partner | Helsinki
anna-maria.tamminen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Maria Wasastjerna

Maria Wasastjerna

Partner | Helsinki
maria.wasastjerna@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Laura Kotilainen

Laura Kotilainen

Counsel | Helsinki
laura.kotilainen@hannessnellman.com
Elina Toivakainen

Elina Toivakainen

Counsel | Helsinki
elina.toivakainen@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Parviainen

Jenni Parviainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jenni.parviainen@hannessnellman.com
Annemari Rosi

Annemari Rosi

Senior Associate | Helsinki
annemari.rosi@hannessnellman.com
Samuli Pirinen

Samuli Pirinen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
samuli.pirinen@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Kantola

Emmi Kantola

Associate | Helsinki
emmi.kantola@hannessnellman.com
Taina Metso

Taina Metso

Associate | Helsinki
taina.metso@hannessnellman.com
Anna Sahrakorpi

Anna Sahrakorpi

Associate | Helsinki
anna.sahrakorpi@hannessnellman.com
Anton Karlais

Anton Karlais

Associate | Helsinki
anton.karlais@hannessnellman.com
Henrik Hautamäki

Henrik Hautamäki

Senior Associate | Helsinki
henrik.hautamaki@hannessnellman.com
Ina Rautiainen

Ina Rautiainen

Associate | Helsinki
ina.rautiainen@hannessnellman.com
Stefan Stellato

Stefan Stellato

Associate | Helsinki
stefan.stellato@hannessnellman.com
Johan Holmquist

Johan Holmquist

Senior Associate | Stockholm
johan.holmquist@hannessnellman.com
Maria Landtman

Maria Landtman

Partner | Helsinki
maria.landtman@hannessnellman.com
David Olander

David Olander

Senior Associate | Stockholm
david.olander@hannessnellman.com
Itai Coleman

Itai Coleman

Associate | Stockholm
itai.coleman@hannessnellman.com

Rankings

  • 'Maria Wasastjerna has a unique combination of academic knowledge with extensive global practical experience from a multinational. Maria can identify the essential and solve problems with a very strong business mindset. In addition, she is extremely nice to work with.', EU and Competition, Legal 500, 2020
  • Elected as one of the ’30 in their 30s’ Notable Women in Competition in Europe, 2017
  • Victoriastiftelsen Scholarship, 2017
  • Fulbright-Schuman Scholarship, 2011

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • European Competition Lawyers Forum (ECLF)
  • In House Competition Lawyers’ Association (ICLA)
  • American Chamber of Commerce in Finland Legal Committee, Chair 2015−2016, Vice Chair 2014
  • Member of the Board, Fulbright Organization in Finland, 2015
  • Member of the New York Bar, 2013−
  • Member of the Finnish Bar Association, 2013, 2019−
  • Member of W@Competition
  • Member of the Board of FIDE Finland
  • Member of International Women’s Forum

Publications

  • Why sustainability is a competition issue, Concurrences 2020 (co-author, forthcoming)
  • Vastuullisuus osana tehokkuuspuolustusta EU:n kilpailuoikeudessa, Defensor Legis 4/2020 (co-author)
  • Competition, data and privacy in the digital economy, Wolters Kluwer International 2020
  • Lectio Praecursoria, Juridiska Föreningen i Finland JFT 6/2019
  • Blurred Lines: The German Facebook case, Finnish Competition Law Yearbook 2019
  • The Controversial Competition-Data Protection Interface, European Business Law Review 30/2019
  • The role of big data and privacy in merger review, European Competition Journal 14/2018
  • Konkurrensrätt, data och integritetsskydd, Juridiska Föreningen i Finland JFT 5/2018
  • Parental liability in EU competition law, International In-House Counsel Journal 8/2015
  • Interlocking directorates in EU competition law, Europarättslig Tidskrift 4/2012
  • Vähemmistöomistusten kilpailuoikeudellisesta merkityksestä, Defensor Legis 3/2012 (co-authored)
  • Antitrust review of intellectual property in the US and the EU, ICC Global Antitrust Review 2011
  • Predatory pricing in antitrust enforcement, ABA Antitrust Law Section Pricing Newsletter Fall 2011
  • Recent developments in resale price maintenance treatment, The Price Point, Spring 2011 (co-author)
  • Private enforcement of Finnish competition law, Juristklubben Codex Festschrift 2010
  • Yhdenmukaistettu menettelytapa ja tietojenvaihto, Defensor Legis 4/2009 (co-author)
  • Gaming in Norway - Did the EFTA court get it right? Competition Law Insight 7/2007 (co-author)

Education and Professional Background

  • Partner, Hannes Snellman, 2019
  • Lead Counsel Competition Law / Senior Legal Counsel, Nokia Corporation, 2014−2019
  • Head of Legal, Kiosked Ltd, 2013–2014
  • Secondee Lawyer, Nokia Corporation, 2013
  • Secondee Lawyer, GE Healthcare, 2012
  • Senior Associate / Associate, Roschier Attorneys, 2008–2013
  • International Trainee, U.S. Federal Trade Commission, Washington D.C., 2011
  • Stagiaire, European Commission, Brussels, 2008
  • Stagiaire, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton, Brussels, 2007
  • Doctor of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2019
  • Visiting Academic, University of Oxford, 2018
  • LL.M., Fulbright scholar, Georgetown Law School, 2011
  • LL.M., College of Europe, Belgium, 2008
  • Master of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2006

Recent Speaking Engagements

  • The German Facebook case and beyond, Annual Conference on EU Data Protection Law, June 2020
  • The interlink between privacy and competition, Ascola Nordic Webinar, June 2020
  • Leadership lessons, Finland Central Chamber of Commerce Female Mentoring Event, Helsinki, Feb 2020
  • Digital competition, Competition Law Nordic Conference, Stockholm, Jan 2020
  • Equality and diversity in the legal profession, Asianajajapäivä, Helsinki, Jan 2020
  • Sustainability and competition, FIDE Finland Seminar, Helsinki, Jan 2020
  • Competition law, technology and IPRs, University of Helsinki Faculty of Law, Jan 2020
  • Basics of competition law, University of Helsinki Faculty of Law, Sept 2019
  • Digitalization and the law, Aalto University School of Business, August 2019
  • EU Merger Control Conference 2019, Brussels, May 2019
  • Finnish Competition Law Association, Helsinki, Apr 2019
  • Juristi 2.0: Miten pärjätä juristikoulutuksesta huolimatta? University of Helsinki, Apr 2019
  • Algorithms and the data economy, Fondia Academy, Helsinki, Mar 2019
  • Competition Law Nordic Conference, Stockholm, Jan 2019
  • Antitrust and competition compliance in CEE Conference, Prague, Dec 2018
  • Big data and competition law KNect 356 Conference, Brussels, Oct 2018
  • W@Competition Nordic Conference, Vilnius, Oct 2018
  • Future of Europe Young Researchers Symposium, University of Helsinki, May 2018
  • Antitrust Law and Economics CLaSF Workshop, University of Graz, Apr 2018
  • Competition Law Nordic Conference, Stockholm, Feb 2018