People

Joakim Lavér

Partner | Stockholm

Joakim has extensive experience in advising contracting entities and companies in both advisory and contentious public procurement law matters. He has also substantial experience in competition law matters, including merger control and state aid. Joakim acts for companies and contracting entities active in a wide range of business areas including transport, aviation, pharmaceutical and healthcare.

Joakim has published numerous articles in the fields of public procurement and competition law and is a frequent speaker at public procurement law seminars.

Team head Joakim Lavér belongs to the very top level of the public procurement community in Sweden

Public Procurement | Legal 500, 2020


References

Parties

City of Espoo, Kumppanuuskoulut Oy, YIT Oyj, Meridiam Investments II

Transaction

The City of Espoo signed a service agreement with Kumppanuuskoulut Oy on the implementation of five schools and three daycare centres

Deal Value

Approx. EUR 300 million

Role

Counsel to City of Espoo

Team

Rabbe Sittnikow, Jussi Ekonen, Janna Pihanurmi, Janne Veneranta, Roosa Väre, Markus Bremer, Maria Landtman, Samuli Pirinen, Heikki Vesikansa, Harri Vehviläinen, Piia Ahonen, Joakim Lavér

Rabbe Sittnikow

Rabbe Sittnikow

Partner | Helsinki
rabbe.sittnikow@hannessnellman.com
Jussi Ekonen

Jussi Ekonen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
jussi.ekonen@hannessnellman.com
Janna Pihanurmi

Janna Pihanurmi

Associate | Helsinki
janna.pihanurmi@hannessnellman.com
Janne Veneranta

Janne Veneranta

Senior Associate | Helsinki
janne.veneranta@hannessnellman.com
Roosa Väre

Roosa Väre

Associate | Helsinki
roosa.vare@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Maria Landtman

Maria Landtman

Partner | Helsinki
maria.landtman@hannessnellman.com
Samuli Pirinen

Samuli Pirinen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
samuli.pirinen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Counsel | Helsinki
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com
Piia Ahonen

Piia Ahonen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
piia.ahonen@hannessnellman.com
Joakim Lavér

Joakim Lavér

Partner | Stockholm
joakim.laver@hannessnellman.com

Parties 

Eltel AB, Eltel AB (Aviation & Security business), Luftfartsverket

Transaction

Eltel in the divestment of its Aviation & Security Business to Luftfarsverket

Deal Value

EUR 17 million

Role

Counsel to Eltel AB

Claes Kjellberg

Claes Kjellberg

Partner | Stockholm
claes.kjellberg@hannessnellman.com
Peter Forsberg

Peter Forsberg

Partner | Stockholm
peter.forsberg@hannessnellman.com
Joakim Lavér

Joakim Lavér

Partner | Stockholm
joakim.laver@hannessnellman.com
Martin Rifall

Martin Rifall

Partner | Stockholm
martin.rifall@hannessnellman.com
Jenny Lundberg

Jenny Lundberg

Specialist Partner | Stockholm
jenny.lundberg@hannessnellman.com
Nicole Jerad

Nicole Jerad

Associate | Stockholm
nicole.jerad@hannessnellman.com
Jonas Sjöberg

Jonas Sjöberg

Associate | Stockholm
jonas.sjoberg@hannessnellman.com
Frida Svensson

Frida Svensson

Associate | Stockholm
frida.svensson@hannessnellman.com

Rankings

Joakim has been regularly listed as an expert in public procurement e.g. in such international legal directories as Chambers Europe and Who´s Who Legal.

By way of example, he has been referred to as follows:

  • Clients says: "Joakim Lavér belongs to the very top level of the public procurement community in Sweden.” and "He is very knowledgeable and experienced in his field; very easy to work with, with great ability to give business-related advice", Public Procurement, Legal 500, 2020
  • 'The"very experienced"Joakim Lavér is a market-leading individual recognised for his impressive knowledge and ability to handle complex public procurement mandates.', Ranked in band 1 in Public Procurement, Chambers Europe, 2020
  • "The 'experienced' Joakim Lavér assisted Stockholm's transport authority SL with the utilities procurement processes carried out for two new traffic areas.", Legal 500, 2019
  • 'Clients describes Joakim Lavér as a "very qualified, experienced and solution-oriented partner.", Public Procurement, Chambers Global, 2019
  • "Hannes Snellman is strong in procurement litigation and is also recommended for strategic advice on public procurement procedures. It is particularly active in regulated sectors, such as public transportation, telecoms and pharmaceuticals. Practice head Joakim Lavér.", Legal 500, 2018
  • 'Joakim Lavér has an excellent reputation for his work advising clients. Market sources value that "he's very experienced: he knows exactly what's important in a case and he gets to the point fast.", Chambers Global Chambers Europe, 2018
  • "Competent and responsive.", Public Procurement, Legal 500, 2017
  • 'Joakim Lavér is endorsed by market commentators as a "very experienced and top-notch lawyer in Sweden.”, Public Procurement, Chambers Europe, 2017
  • 'Clients say that Joakim Lavér is "one of the best in Sweden regarding procurement - he can see solutions in all issues.", Public Procurement, Chambers Europe, 2016
  • Ranked as Notable practitioner, Public Procurement (Sweden), Chambers Europe, 2015

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Member of the Swedish Bar Association
  • Member of the ICC Public Procurement Task Force
  • Member of the ICC Sweden reference group Competition


Education and Professional Background

  • Partner, Hannes Snellman, Stockholm, 2011
  • Specialist Partner, Hannes Snellman, Stockholm, 2009
  • Consultant, Linklaters, 2001–2009
  • Director, KPMG Legal, 1999–2001
  • Lagerlöf & Leman, 1991–1999
  • Trained on the Bench, District Court of Stockholm, 1989–1991
  • Jur. kand. (LL.M.), Stockholm University, 1989