People

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki

Jesper specialises in mergers and acquisitions as well as private equity transactions. He also advises clients in energy and infrastructure related deals. In addition to offering corporate and contract law advice, Jesper also has several years’ experience in financing and real estate-related transactions.

Jesper worked as a foreign associate at the private equity practice of Kirkland & Ellis in New York during 2017–2018.  In addition, Jesper’s international experience also includes studying economics at Cornell University and law at the University of Gothenburg for one semester.


References

Parties

EQT Fund VIII (Buyer), Agilitas Private Equity and other shareholders (Sellers), Recover Nordic (Target)

Transaction

EQT’s acquisition of Recover Nordic

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Finnish counsel to EQT Fund VIII

Sten Olsson

Sten Olsson

Partner | Helsinki
sten.olsson@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Kostiainen

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jesper.kostiainen@hannessnellman.com
Annika Schauman

Annika Schauman

Senior Associate | Helsinki
annika.schauman@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Lustig

Mikael Lustig

Associate | Helsinki
mikael.lustig@hannessnellman.com
Heidi Kärki

Heidi Kärki

Senior Associate | Helsinki
heidi.karki@hannessnellman.com
Beata-Maria Pippingsköld

Beata-Maria Pippingsköld

Senior Associate | Helsinki
bea.pippingskold@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Peab AB (Buyer), YIT Corporation (Seller), YIT’s Nordic paving and mineral aggregates businesses (Targets)

Transaction

YIT’s sale of its Nordic paving and mineral aggregates businesses in Finland, Sweden, Norway and Denmark to Peab

Deal Value

EUR 280 million

Role

Counsel to YIT Corporation

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Senior Partner | Helsinki
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Kostiainen

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jesper.kostiainen@hannessnellman.com
Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Senior Associate | Helsinki
suvi-tuuli.saarnio@hannessnellman.com
Kaisa Himmanen

Kaisa Himmanen

Associate | Helsinki
kaisa.himmanen@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner | Helsinki
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Metsä-Simola

Klaus Metsä-Simola

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
klaus.metsa-simola@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Counsel | Helsinki
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Ninja Pyy

Ninja Pyy

Associate | Helsinki
ninja.pyy@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Kantola

Emmi Kantola

Associate | Helsinki
emmi.kantola@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Klaara Lähteenoja

Klaara Lähteenoja

Associate | Helsinki
klaara.lahteenoja@hannessnellman.com
Toni Malminen

Toni Malminen

Counsel | Helsinki
toni.malminen@hannessnellman.com
Jenny Lundberg

Jenny Lundberg

Specialist Partner | Stockholm
jenny.lundberg@hannessnellman.com
Janna Pihanurmi

Janna Pihanurmi

Associate | Helsinki
janna.pihanurmi@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Scandic Hotels Group (Buyer), Restel (Seller), Restel’s Hotel Portfolio (Target)

Transaction

Scandic’s acquisition of Restel’s hotel operations in Finland from Restel

Deal Value

EUR 114.5 million

Role

Counsel to Scandic Hotels Group

Juha Lindström

Juha Lindström

Partner | Helsinki
juha.lindstrom@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Kostiainen

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jesper.kostiainen@hannessnellman.com
Erkko Korhonen

Erkko Korhonen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
erkko.korhonen@hannessnellman.com
Tuuli Pikkarainen

Tuuli Pikkarainen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
tuuli.pikkarainen@hannessnellman.com
Ninja Pyy

Ninja Pyy

Associate | Helsinki
ninja.pyy@hannessnellman.com
Heini Aavaranta

Heini Aavaranta

Associate | Helsinki
heini.aavaranta@hannessnellman.com
Janne Veneranta

Janne Veneranta

Senior Associate | Helsinki
janne.veneranta@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Lemminkäinen Corporation and YIT Corporation

Transaction

The combination of Lemminkäinen Corporation and YIT Corporation through a statutory merger

Deal Value

EUR 771 million

Role

Counsel to Lemminkäinen

Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner | Helsinki
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Senior Partner | Helsinki
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Elina Toivakainen

Elina Toivakainen

Counsel | Helsinki
elina.toivakainen@hannessnellman.com
Laura Tavakka

Laura Tavakka

Senior Associate | Helsinki
laura.tavakka@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Counsel | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Kostiainen

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jesper.kostiainen@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Counsel | Helsinki
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Associate | Helsinki
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Stefan Stellato

Stefan Stellato

Associate | Helsinki
stefan.stellato@hannessnellman.com

Parties

SUSI Partners AG (Buyer), Ilmatar Windpower Plc (Seller), Tetrituuli Wind Farm (Target)

Transaction

SUSI Partners AG’s acquisition of Tetrituuli Wind Farm from Ilmatar Windpower Plc

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to SUSI Partners AG

Rabbe Sittnikow

Rabbe Sittnikow

Partner | Helsinki
rabbe.sittnikow@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Metsä-Simola

Klaus Metsä-Simola

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
klaus.metsa-simola@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Kostiainen

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jesper.kostiainen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Hartwall Capital Oy Ab (Buyer), SUEZ Suomi Oy (Target)

Transaction

Hartwall Capital Oy Ab's acquisition of SUEZ Suomi Oy, comprising the Finnish operations of SUEZ Group

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Hartwall Capital Oy Ab

Sten Olsson

Sten Olsson

Partner | Helsinki
sten.olsson@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Metsä-Simola

Klaus Metsä-Simola

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
klaus.metsa-simola@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Kostiainen

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jesper.kostiainen@hannessnellman.com
Antti Alanko

Antti Alanko

Partner | Helsinki
antti.alanko@hannessnellman.com
Erkko Korhonen

Erkko Korhonen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
erkko.korhonen@hannessnellman.com
Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Senior Associate | Helsinki
suvi-tuuli.saarnio@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Vitec Software Group AB (publ) (Buyer), Futursoft Oy (Target)

Transaction

 Vitec Software Group AB's (publ) acquisition of all shares in the Finnish software company Futursoft Oy

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Vitec Software Group AB (publ)

Rabbe Sittnikow

Rabbe Sittnikow

Partner | Helsinki
rabbe.sittnikow@hannessnellman.com
Panu Siitonen

Panu Siitonen

Partner | Helsinki
panu.siitonen@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Kostiainen

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jesper.kostiainen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Ruokakesko Oy (Buyer), Triton (Seller), Suomen Lähikauppa Oy (Target)

Transaction

Triton's sale of Suomen Lähikauppa Oy to Ruokakesko Oy, a subsidiary of Kesko Corporation

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Triton

Sten Olsson

Sten Olsson

Partner | Helsinki
sten.olsson@hannessnellman.com
Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner | Helsinki
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Kostiainen

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jesper.kostiainen@hannessnellman.com
Johannes Husa

Johannes Husa

Senior Associate | Helsinki
johannes.husa@hannessnellman.com

Parties

SoftBank Group Corporation (Seller), Tencent Holdings Limited (Buyer), Supercell (Target)

Transaction

SoftBank Group Corporation's and its affiliates' sale of all of their 72.2% stake in Supercell to an affiliate of Tencent Holdings Limited

Deal Value

Approx. USD 10.2 billion

Role

Counsel to SoftBank and its affiliates

Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner | Helsinki
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Kostiainen

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jesper.kostiainen@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Uponor and Belkin International

Transaction

A joint venture to pioneer in the development of intelligent water sensing and conservation technology for buildings in the U.S. and Europe.

Deal Value

USD 50 million

Role

Counsel to Uponor

Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner | Helsinki
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Senior Partner | Helsinki
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Panu Siitonen

Panu Siitonen

Partner | Helsinki
panu.siitonen@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Kostiainen

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jesper.kostiainen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

State of Finland (Seller), Patria Oyj (Target), Kongsberg Defence & Aerospace AS (Buyer)

Transaction

The Finnish government's sale of 49.9% of its shares in Patria Oyj to Kongsberg Defence & Aerospace AS

Deal Value

EUR 272 million

Role

Counsel to Patria and its shareholder

Panu Siitonen

Panu Siitonen

Partner | Helsinki
panu.siitonen@hannessnellman.com
Rabbe Sittnikow

Rabbe Sittnikow

Partner | Helsinki
rabbe.sittnikow@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Kostiainen

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jesper.kostiainen@hannessnellman.com
Henrik Hautamäki

Henrik Hautamäki

Senior Associate | Helsinki
henrik.hautamaki@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Adven Group (Target), EQT (Seller), AMP Capital, Infracapital (Buyers)

Transaction

EQT Infrastructure Limited’s sale of Adven Group to a consortium comprising of AMP Capital Investors and Infracapital Partners II

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to EQT

Johan Aalto

Johan Aalto

Partner | Helsinki
johan.aalto@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Kostiainen

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jesper.kostiainen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Henrik Hautamäki

Henrik Hautamäki

Senior Associate | Helsinki
henrik.hautamaki@hannessnellman.com
Marta Kauppinen

Marta Kauppinen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
marta.kauppinen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Metso Oyj (Seller) and Valmet Oyj (Buyer)

Transaction

Valmet Oyj’s acquisition of the process automation systems business from Metso Oyj

Deal Value

EUR 340 million

Role

Counsel to Valmet Oyj

Johan Aalto

Johan Aalto

Partner | Helsinki
johan.aalto@hannessnellman.com
Sten Olsson

Sten Olsson

Partner | Helsinki
sten.olsson@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Kostiainen

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jesper.kostiainen@hannessnellman.com
Erkko Korhonen

Erkko Korhonen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
erkko.korhonen@hannessnellman.com
Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner | Helsinki
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Johannes Husa

Johannes Husa

Senior Associate | Helsinki
johannes.husa@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Member of the Finnish Bar Association

Education and Professional Background

  • Managing Associate, Hannes Snellman, 2016-
  • Foreign Associate, Kirkland & Ellis (New York), 2017–2018
  • Senior Associate, Hannes Snellman, 2012
  • Secondee, SRV Group Plc, 2010
  • Associate Lawyer, Hannes Snellman, 2008
  • Master of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2008